brass cleaning

Extend your shooting experience while reducing the cost of your ammunition!
Drew66

brass cleaning

Post by Drew66 »

Hi, sorry to trouble you all again with more questions, but here goes. How do you clean up brass cases? I have now fired all of my new .357 reloaded rounds, and the cases have black powder marks on the exterior. I do not have any cleaning equipment as I am just starting out, and would like your thought on cleaning by hand, and how to do it. Many thanks for your help, best wishes Andrew.
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: brass cleaning

Post by Ranch Dog »

The easiest and least expensive way I do it is with mineral spirits on a rag. It will remove all the residue and dissipates very quickly. Despite having the brass vibrator/polisher, I often use this method to clean small amounts of cases as I'm working on a load. I do not worry about the interior of the case, just the exterior, I want it clean before I run it back through the sizing die.
Michael
joec
Founding Member
Founding Member

Post by joec »

Now I'm going to assume here you aren't shooting black powder on this and would follow Ranch Dogs method. Now if it is black powder which I shoot a lot of in my 45 Colt loads what I do is pretty straight forward really. I do have a Lee Universal Decapping die and Lee Hand press that I take with me to our shoots but not necessary to remove them really. Between stages I decap and have a bottle filled with dawn dish soap and water and throw the brass in there. Now when I get home I rinse and drop in 50/50 vinegar water solution leaving it 5 to 10 minutes. I then rinse them completely off at and let them either air dry or if in a rush in the oven set low in a pan. Once dry you can reload or store in my case I tumble them. They come out looking like new brass.
Joe
Arktikos
Founding Member
Founding Member

Post by Arktikos »