Suspect Shooting Chrony readings

Extend your shooting experience while reducing the cost of your ammunition!
Arktikos
Founding Member
Founding Member

Suspect Shooting Chrony readings

Post by Arktikos »

Hi all, I am relatively new at handloading and for the last few years I have just been loading mildish loads for my 45 Colts (Ruger BH and 1894) and 1895 45/70 using Unique, TiteGroup and Trail Boss in the 45 Colt and some 5744 in the 45-70 using commercial cast bullets from Lasercast and Dardas. I was given a new Shooting Chrony when I started reloading and have tried to make use of it right from day one without what I consider good results. Lately I have wanted to step it up a notch with both my 45 Colts and 1895 for use as bear defense rounds. I have gas checked 325 gr Beartooth for the 45 Colt and 525 piledrivers for the 1895. Beartooth bullets gave specific load data for the 525 gr Piledrivers and RL 7 listing a max load of 44.3gr which they listed at 1648fps and safe for Marlin leverguns. For the 525gr PD's I was just looking for something in the range of 1400 to 1500fps so I started out with 38gr, same brass, CCI 200's (they used Winchester) and the first reading of 1729fps made me a wee bit nervous! The case extracted normally, and the primer wasn't flattened like the pictures I have seen of overloaded hand loaded cases. The recoil wasn't that bad either nor did the lever pop open so I decided to fire another, 1792! That was enough for me, as I figure either I am well over max pressure or the Chrony is way off. The rest of the first 20 rounds are now tucked away in a drawer. Since that time I have loaded some of the 325gr in my 45 Colt, following a load I went with from Hodgdon site. They listed using Lil'Gun a starting load of 17gr and a max of 20.5 at 29,700 CUP, Win brass and non-magnum primers and a 325gr GC RNFP. I used new Starline brass and CCI 300's and chose a start load of 17gr and out of my 5.5" Blackhawk the readings were pretty consistent betw