The Land Down Under

Tell us a bit about yourself!
Bingal123

The Land Down Under

Post by Bingal123 »

Having already submitted a post on my M92 feeding issues and solution i thought I might take a minute to say Hi. I started shooting an air rifle at the age of six, any sparrow silly enough to come within range of that little .177 Diana was fare game and many fell by theway side. At 12 most weekends I would wrap an old 410 shotgun up in an old towl and tie it to the cross bar on my bike put a box of ferrets on my back with a dozen negs and go and terrorise the local rabbit population. Comming home was always an intersting sight with field dressed rabbits hanging from every available space on that bike lol. As I grew so did the firearm and the old trusty 410 was replaced with an under over shotgun and the prey of choice became fox,ducks and wild boar flushed from swamps. I coulndt even begin to add up the hours spent chassing these or the miles spent looking for them but I do know I enjoyed everyone of them. Many decades later,more than I care to count lol i have several gun safes of all the modern wiz bang firearms that are currently popular the game has changed to mostly Deer, Boar and introduced pest species but none of them have given me as much joy as that little .177 Diana and the old Mossberg bolt action 410 shotgun did all those yars ago when I discovered the freedom and joy of firearms and hunting. Its funny how we fall prey and shooting is no different. The game hasnt changed any yet now if I dont have the biggest,most powerful and fastest flat shooting gun available I am told I am at a disadvantage lol. That old 410 killed evry type of game there is it was more about hunting, shot placement and being realistic based on the circumstances. I rhink that is what drew me back to first hunting with single shot rifles and later old style lever guns, it reminded me why i go hunting. Not to prove how clever I am but because I enjoy the environment and the hunting