R92 44 Mag Failure to fire

The Rossi Model R92, a lightweight carbine for Cowboy Action, hunting, or plinking! Includes Rossi manufactured Interarms, Navy Arms, and Puma trade names.
jisco43

R92 44 Mag Failure to fire

Post by jisco43 »

Need some advice / opinions.
I've had my rifle since July and reload cast bullets for it. Today I experienced my first problem. Out of 16 rounds I experienced 4 misfires. 2 with 4227 and 2 with 2400. The primers are CCI Number 300. Today here in Southern Ohio it was 53 degrees when I was trying out some rounds that I had seated and crimped at 1.605. The 4 rounds that failed to ignite all had what appeared to be struck to the same depth as the 12 that did fire. Any ideas on what may be the problem would be greatly appreciated. I've been reloading for various calibers since 1984 and have never had this happen. Thanks for your time!
golfish
500 Shots
500 Shots

Re: R92 44 Mag Failure to fire

Post by golfish »

jisco43 wrote:Need some advice / opinions.
I've had my rifle since July and reload cast bullets for it. Today I experienced my first problem. Out of 16 rounds I experienced 4 misfires. 2 with 4227 and 2 with 2400. The primers are CCI Number 300. Today here in Southern Ohio it was 53 degrees when I was trying out some rounds that I had seated and crimped at 1.605. The 4 rounds that failed to ignite all had what appeared to be struck to the same depth as the 12 that did fire. Any ideas on what may be the problem would be greatly appreciated. I've been reloading for various calibers since 1984 and have never had this happen. Thanks for your time!
Sorry to hear about your problem. Did you chamber the duds for a second time to see if they would work?
Sarge
250 Shots
250 Shots

Post by Sarge »

I can't tell you how many thousand CCI 300s I've loaded over the past 15 years but they all went BANG and a bunch of them worked fine in a couple of R92 45 Colts. Do you have reason to suspect your primers may have gotten fouled?
Archer