Lead question

Take total control of your projectiles by casting your own!
ddj

Lead question

Post by ddj »

Hello-I've been casting for probably 6-8 months and am really enjoying it. So far I've been using old wheel weights that I sorted through and removed all the zinc ones. But I recently acquired about 100 lbs of what I consider to bee pretty much pure lead. It was used as chinking(SP) in the joints of old cast iron sewer and water mains. I've melted it down and fluxed the stuff and poured into ingots. Next weekend I'm getting a bunch of lead pipe. I know I will probably have to harden this stuff up but what is the best way to do it? I shoot moderate Trail Boss loads in both of my 45"s. Target shooting is all I do so far and next summer cowboy action. I've heard that linotype will harden the pour and it's available on ebay. Any help or ideas will be appreciated. Thanks
knifemaker

Re: Lead question

Post by knifemaker »

If you are keeping your loads at 1300-1400 fps or less, you should get by with using a mix of 2 pounds of pure lead with 1 pound of linotype. By using a good lube you should not get any leading in the barrel. I prefer using White Label BAC or 2500+ lube. If your loads are up the area of 1500-1700 fps, try a mix of 1 pound linotype to 1 pound of pure lead. You may want to add about 1-2% pure tin for good fill out in the mold for both mixtures. I have used straight wheel weights up to 1500 fps with no leading in my barrels.